Top Gear Track Experience Review

She was so sexy, beautiful and she smelt wonderful. She purred when she got into her rhythm and she was so smooth to touch. She responded perfectly and did exactly as I asked of her. She was the perfect partner for those 6 minutes…

No, I’m not talking about my beautiful wife (although all of those things do apply…) I am in fact talking about my Top Gear Track Experience!


What is it about fast cars that’s so attractive? There are plenty of women who love fast cars, but I imagine there are more men. Why? Maybe it’s the freedom of speed or the feeling of power as you squeeze the throttle. Whatever the reason, I do love fast cars. So I was excited when I had the opportunity to go for a Top Gear Track Experience.

I had the choice between their 4X4 experience, a drive in a reasonably priced car (?!*?!) or a spin in an Ariel Atom. Naturally, I chose the only option that meant I could drive at 100+mph: the Ariel Atom!

I arrived and caught the shuttle bus to the Top Gear studio for a quick look round. It was great to see what the studio looked liked and I even saw Jeremy Clarkson punching someone who looked awfully like my brother in the face!


Rein-acting the famous behaviour of a Top Gear legend was just the start of my Top Gear Track Experience. I was given my memory card (to film my driving skills) and we set off to the open runway for my experience to really take off. (No pun intended!)


I got in the car, which is basically just an engine with wheels, fastened my belt, received my briefing and off I went! 6 laps of sheer speed and exhilaration!

The acceleration was like nothing I have ever experienced. The power at my foot was extraordinary and the car responded to my slightest command. Now, I only have a Nissan Quashqai to compare this too, but to me it seemed like an awesome car.

I had such a good time, albeit only a few minutes, and it was a great experience. We would highly recommend the Top Gear Track Experience. And it would make an ideal present for dads, whatever the occasion.

photo 3


*We did receive the Top Gear Track Day for free in exchange for a review, but the opinions above are genuine.

The Giggles Family


  1. Mummy Fever 20 April, 2015 / 9:52 pm

    Oh this looks ace – my partner would love this #KidTested (sort of lol)

  2. Lucy Dorrington 21 April, 2015 / 10:21 pm

    This looks like a great dad gift and that’s a rare thing indeed! Why are men so hard to buy for?!

    • Al Ferguson 22 April, 2015 / 8:17 pm

      It would make a great gift for sure!

  3. The Giggles Family 22 April, 2015 / 8:48 pm

    Ha ha this made me laugh. Looks a fab day out. No letting my husband see or he will be wanting me to get one for our anniversary! Fave moment is the “punch” ;) #KidTested

  4. Tim 25 April, 2015 / 12:13 am

    I’ve done track days before but this is something I am definitely going to have to add to my list (sends URL of this post to wife). It would be interesting to compare the Atom to my current car (a BMW 4-series) or, perhaps more relevantly, to the Formula Renault single-seaters I’ve driven previously, which I’m guessing is fairly similar.

  5. Sarah Howe 25 April, 2015 / 6:04 am

    I’d have been gingerly putting my foot on the peddle like a wuss!i also have a Nissan Qashqai! Looks pretty awesome however! I think if you are a die hard Top Gear fan this must be like a dream come true!! #bigfatlinky

  6. John Adams 25 April, 2015 / 7:30 am

    Glad to see you enjoyed yourself. An empty track and a fast car would be fun. #BigFatLinky

  7. Life with Six Kids 25 April, 2015 / 7:49 am

    Looks like a great day and I know my son would love it. Great present idea :)

  8. Ali 25 April, 2015 / 7:55 am

    That Jeremy Clarkson comment made me laugh! Looks like a fab day, I love Top Gear, I’m a secret car obsessive but I hate driving fast so I’m happy just reading watching this. #bigfatlinky

  9. Jade Wilson 25 April, 2015 / 8:06 am

    Looks like you had a great time, Al! I love fast cars too, although I’m probably less excitable about them as you, haha. #bigfatlinky x

  10. Dawn of the Dad 25 April, 2015 / 8:28 am

    Looks awsome! I’ve had a few dozen laps of the Top Gear track, virtually of course, via Gran Turismo on the PS.

    Many years ago, my father won a track day at Brans Hatch, and although I never got on the track, it was amazing to get down the pit lane, and in the tower to watch my old man burn around in a bmw and then a formula ford.

  11. Kate 25 April, 2015 / 8:31 am

    Great review, it looks amazing! My family and I love Top Gear so would really enjoy something like this. Love your reenactment of the famous punch ;)


  12. Pen 25 April, 2015 / 9:03 am

    It sounds like you had a ball!

  13. Mummy Fever 25 April, 2015 / 10:17 am

    I already commented here from #kidtested but wanted to say I’ve checked this out now and will be giving it as a gift #bigfatlinky

  14. Alexandra Hurton 25 April, 2015 / 11:06 am

    OMG! I’ve sent this on to various Top Gear fans who will love it! Good choice though with the atom. #bigfatlinky

  15. hannah 25 April, 2015 / 11:27 am

    My OH would love this. A good contender for a first fathers day present. #bigfatlinky

  16. Lora @ The 21st Century Mama 25 April, 2015 / 11:55 am

    Sounds like a fab day, and I think I’d enjoy it just as much as the hubby!

    Great idea for a present though.

  17. Jeremy@thirstydaddy 25 April, 2015 / 1:17 pm

    I’ve topped out at 180 mph. Its a pretty big rush. Looks like you had a blast

  18. Dan @DBTH 25 April, 2015 / 4:44 pm

    That looks bloody scary, exhilarating though. I get hyped up enough at the dodgems, this is truly next level stuff..

    To get the full Top Gear experience did you get the chance to wear bad jeans, drink with Cameron and be casually racist? ( Sorry couldn’t resist :)

  19. ERFmama 26 April, 2015 / 1:50 am

    How incredibly fun!!!
    My hubby would def. want something like this! :D
    I was gutted when Top Gear got cancelled etc etc…. :(
    But it lives on! haha
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  20. Michelle Reeves (bodfortea) 26 April, 2015 / 6:00 am

    Yep I’m one of those ladies! The husband and I both had motorbikes before the little people arrived and the thrill of speed hasn’t left me. I’ve been driven round a race track by a rally driver (thrilling) and done a track day that saw me spinning a 911 across the grass. The Top Gear Day sounds awesome – but I’d have to book us BOTH to drive the Atom :) #BigFatLinky

  21. Lisa (mummascribbles) 26 April, 2015 / 7:38 am

    This would be such a great gift! My other half doesn’t drive so I can never send him on these which is a shame. We did once send my dad on a driving experience day and he loved it – he would have definitely loved going to the top gear track if he was still here. #bigfatlinky

  22. Phil Drew 26 April, 2015 / 1:12 pm

    The Stig looks a little more colourful than usual – loving the new threads!

  23. Laura @ Life with Baby Kicks 26 April, 2015 / 6:26 pm

    This looks ace, though I think I’d go for the reasonably priced car to see how I compare (slow at best!!!) #bigfatlinky

  24. Elizabeth (Wander Mum) 27 April, 2015 / 8:35 am

    Wow!! That looks awesome – the noise of the engine and wind just adds to it. Good to see the Top Gear brand is still going strong despite Clarkson leaving. My husband and I did a Ferrari experience a few years back at Silverstone which was ace but, as you say, all over far, far too quickly. Would love to do another so we’d have to do it together as well!! #bigfatlinky

  25. Mike Smith | Sunshine Dad 27 April, 2015 / 4:59 pm

    Woah! Looks like you had a total blast. I honestly think I might be too worried I’d crash the car or something, maybe not, maybe I’d just love every second!!
    The 4×4 experience might be something I’d enjoy better.
    Either way, glad you had a great time. And I thoroughly enjoyed your opening paragraph even though I could guess where it was headed :)

  26. International Elf Service 27 April, 2015 / 9:51 pm

    That sounds very cool. I sent my husband on a fast car experience for his 40th and he loved it. I really love speed but would rather be on a horse!

  27. Brian Scott 28 April, 2015 / 5:55 am

    I am so jealous of you right now! That is awesome! I wonder if they have a Top Gear track here near me in the states? Sounds like a great Father’s Day gift, lol.

  28. Jenny 28 April, 2015 / 8:17 am

    That looks like amazing fun! I would love to have a shot in a fast car, the closest I get are quad bike experiences, which I also love! :)

  29. Joanna @mumbalance 30 April, 2015 / 10:59 pm

    Fast cars are not for me. In fact no cars are for me, as I don’t have a licence. Yet. I could probably manage a race track ride though seeing that there are no other cars but yourself!

  30. am herbert 1 May, 2015 / 11:44 pm

    Oh there is nothing like driving fast. I got to take a Mercedes C220 round the bowl at Millbrook testing ground.

    The Atom looks a fun drive. I’m off to watch the vlog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *